Public Holidays In Austria in 2022 and 2023

Austria

Living in Austria? Here’s a list of all the public holidays in Austria that you need to know in 2022 and 2023, as well as other important dates to mark.

Whether you are living in Austria or just visiting, it’s important to note the dates of Austria’s holidays. This is because many public institutions and companies across Austria close on these days. Therefore, it’s good to have a heads up. To ensure you don’t miss out on anything important, this guide lists Austria’s public holidays as well as important dates for your calendar.

Introduction to Austrian public holidays

There are 13 annual Austrian bank holidays observed by the whole country, as well as some state holidays that are only acknowledged in certain states.

Here is a list of public holidays in Austria in 2022 and 2023, in addition to some other important dates.

Public holidays in Austria during 2022

When these holidays occur, most people in Austria get the day off; however, please note that dates may change.

1 January (Saturday): New Year’s Day
6 January (Thursday): Epiphany
18 April (Monday): Easter Monday
1 May (Sunday): Labor Day (also referred to as May Day)
26 May (Thursday): Ascension Day

6 June (Monday): Whit Monday
16 June (Thursday): Corpus Christi
15 August (Monday): Assumption of Mary
26 October (Wednesday): National Day
1 November (Tuesday): All Saints’ Day

8 December (Thursday): Immaculate Conception
24 December (Saturday): Christmas Eve bank holiday
25 December (Sunday): Christmas Day
26 December (Monday): Saint Stephen’s Day

Regional holidays in Austria during 2022

These holidays also occur in 2022, but only in certain Austrian states.

19 March (Saturday): Saint Joseph’s Day – Carinthia, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg
4 May (Wednesday): Saint Florian’s Day – Upper Austria
24 September (Saturday): Saint Rupert’s Day – Salzburg
10 October (Monday): Plebiscite Day – Carinthia
11 November (Friday): Saint Martin’s Day – Burgenland
15 November (Tuesday): Saint Leopold’s Day – Lower Austria, Vienna

Important dates in Austria during 2022

27 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as a result of daylight saving time starting
15 April (Friday): Good Friday
8 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
12 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
30 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as a result of daylight saving time ending

Public holidays in Austria during 2023

When these holidays occur, most people in Austria get the day off; however, please note that dates may change.

1 January (Sunday): New Year’s Day
6 January (Friday): Epiphany
10 April (Monday): Easter Monday
1 May (Monday): Labor Day (also referred to as May Day)
18 May (Thursday): Ascension Day

29 May (Monday): Whit Monday
8 June (Tuesday): Corpus Christi
15 August (Tuesday): Assumption of Mary
26 October (Thursday): National Day
1 November (Wednesday): All Saints’ Day

8 December (Friday): Immaculate Conception
25 December (Monday): Christmas Day
26 December (Tuesday): Saint Stephen’s Day

Regional holidays in Austria during 2023

These holidays also occur in 2022, but only in certain Austrian states.

19 March (Sunday): Saint Joseph’s Day – Carinthia, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg
4 May (Thursday): Saint Florian’s Day – Upper Austria
24 September (Sunday): Saint Rupert’s Day – Salzburg
10 October (Tuesday): Referendum Day – Carinthia
11 November (Saturday): Saint Martin’s Day – Burgenland
15 November (Wednesday): Saint Leopold’s Day – Lower Austria, Vienna

Important dates in Austria during 2023

12 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as a result of daylight saving time starting
7 April (Friday): Good Friday
14 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
18 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
29 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as a result of daylight saving time ending

Austrian school holidays

If your kids attend an Austrian school, read even more in our comprehensive guide to school holidays in Austria.

By: www.expatica.com